Dec. 9, 2022 — United States Coach of the Yr, the nominees


The US Coach of the Yr Award is given to a head coach or co-head coaches who made a noticeable distinction within the efficiency of a scholastic area hockey group in a specific season. The teaching efficiency will not be restricted to progress made within the yr which the award is given.

Listed below are this yr’s nominees:

  • Tonya Brown, Mechanicsburg (Pa.) — Final yr’s state semifinal group took proud and daring steps onto the nationwide stage, sweeping its video games within the Nationwide Excessive College Invitational, then successful the PIAA Class AA title
  • Geoffrey Chrisman, Clinton North Hunterdon (N.J.) — This confirmed coach took expertise and a constructive teaching perspective to get the Lions to win a second consecutive state championship
  • Becky Elliott, Houston St. John’s (Tex.) — The Mavericks weren’t the favored group within the SPC due to the senior class that performs for cross-town and SPC rival Kinkaid. However the group pulled collectively after a Sept. 29 defeat and went unbeaten the remainder of the best way
  • Shannon Hanratty, Annapolis Broadneck (Md.) — Using the play of Maryland commit Maya Everett, the Bruins went 20-0 on the season
  • Jodi Hollamon, Delmar (Del.) — Took a gaggle of expert and match gamers and, regardless of all the consideration centered on the small city wherein the varsity operates, received a seventh straight state championship
  • Kat Keivens, San Diego Canyon Hills — Took over for long-time teaching legend Laurie Berger and introduced the Rattlers a 26-0 season and a CIF San Diego Part Open Division championship
  • Loveita Moffett, Smyrna (Del.) — In simply her second yr as coach of the Eagles, she introduced her group to the DIAA state championship
  • Mary Ponda, South Glens Falls (N.Y.) — The group beat numerous glorious packages on the best way to the Class B state semifinals, together with Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake (N.Y.) and Shrub Oak Lakeland (N.Y.)
  • Ann Simons, Longmeadow (Mass.) — In her ultimate yr as coach, she steered her group to its first state championship in her 42 years on the helm
  • Amy Skrickus, Crofton (Md.) — Her group, in its second yr of existence, received the MPSSAA Class 3A state championship
  • Gina Welling, Northport (N.Y.) — Coached the Tigers to a second consecutive state championship however wasn’t straightforward; group needed to go to time beyond regulation on consecutive days within the semifinal and ultimate rounds
  • Jennifer Weissbach, Pottstown Hill College (Pa.) — The previous North Caldwell West Essex (N.J.) standout has been a very good match for a gaggle of gifted and expert gamers that was one of many best groups within the nation this yr

The awardee might be introduced Dec. 30.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *