IPL Orange Cap Winners Listing (From 2008 to 2023)


The Orange Cap in IPL is given to the participant who scores essentially the most runs within the season. Yearly we see numerous batsmen competing with each other to win the celebrated award.

So who’re these batters who managed to steer the run-scoring desk, yr by yr?

This text will have a look at the Orange cap winners (the highest run scorer of each season) in IPL, year-wise.

1) IPL 2008: Shaun Marsh – 616 runs

IPL 2008 Orange Cap WInner

Shaun Marsh scored the utmost variety of runs within the league’s inaugural version. He was awarded the Orange Cap in 2008. He scored a whopping 616 runs averaging an unlimited 68.44, with a powerful strike fee of virtually 140 for the Punjab Kings. Shaun Marsh was Punjab’s “Mr. Constant” and was one in all their key gamers that yr.

2) IPL 2009: Matthew Hayden – 572 runs

IPL 2009 Orange Cap winner

Australian legend Matthew Hayden scored essentially the most variety of runs within the second version of the league and gained the Orange Cap that yr. He scored a whopping 572 runs in 12 matches and had a strike fee of 144.81. He was top-of-the-line gamers CSK had again then. CSK followers keep in mind Hayden to this date and nonetheless think about him a CSK legend.

Learn Now: Which crew has scored the utmost particular person centuries in IPL?

3) IPL 2010: Sachin Tendulkar – 618 runs

IPL 2010 Orange Cap Winner

Arguably the best batsman of all time, Sachin Tendulkar gained the esteemed batter’s award in 2010. He was tremendous constant for the MI as they reached the finals beneath him. Tendulkar went on to attain 618 runs for his crew. He had a batting common and strike fee of 47.53 and 132.61, respectively, in IPL 2010.

4) IPL 2011: Chris Gayle – 608 runs

IPL Orange Cap winner 2011

That is when the “Gayle Storm” really started within the IPL. After coming in as a alternative, the Universe Boss made this season his personal and hit sixes for enjoyable. The Universe Boss scored 608 runs within the 4th version of the Indian Premier League for the RCB aspect. His strike fee of 183 units him aside from all Orange Cap holders.

5) IPL 2012: Chris Gayle – 773 runs

IPL 2012 Orange cap winner

The Universe Boss wasn’t carried out but. After dominating bowlers in 2011, he determined to troll bowlers in 2012. The “Gayle Storm” ensured that no bowler was spared. He scored 773 runs at a mountainous common of 67. He additionally had a strike fee of 160.74. Nonetheless, that also wasn’t sufficient to assist RCB attain the playoffs. After this, he scored the highest-ever rating in IPL the following yr.

6) IPL 2013: Michael Hussey – 733 runs

IPL 2013 orange cap winner

Mr Cricket gained the Orange Cap in 2013. He was one of many essential causes CSK reached the finals that season. The Aussie batsman gathered 733 runs at a mean of over 50, however Mumbai Indians gained the title that season. It could be secure to say that Hussey was one of many best gamers to have performed for CSK.

7) IPL 2014: Robin Uthappa – 660 runs

IPL 2014 Orange cap winner

Uthappa was an absolute beast in 2014. KKR went on to win the title that yr, and Uthappa was one of many main causes behind their profitable marketing campaign. After being despatched to open the innings, Robbie by no means appeared again and gained the Orange Cap that yr. He scored 660 runs at a mean and strike fee of 44 and 137, respectively.

8) IPL 2015: David Warner – 562 runs

IPL 2019 Orange Cap Winner


In article image middle

David Warner is without doubt one of the best gamers within the league’s historical past. His love affair with the Orange Cap began in 2015, as he scored essentially the most runs that yr. Warner scored 562 runs in 2015. His common and strike fee with the bat are 43 and 156, respectively. Regardless of this, SRH nonetheless couldn’t qualify for the playoffs.

9) IPL 2016: Virat Kohli – 973 runs

IPL 2016 Orange Cap Winner

This must be the best efficiency in IPL historical past. No batsman has come near performing like how Kohli carried out in 2016. The yr made us debate whether or not Virat is the all-time T20 batsman on the earth. The Indian captain’s run tally in 2016 stays the very best in a single version of the marquee T20 league. RCB made it to the ultimate of IPL 2016 however misplaced to SRH. Kohli scored 973 runs at a mean and strike fee of 81 and 152, respectively. It could be secure to say that he scored runs for enjoyable that season. He was the highest six-hitter of that yr too.

Learn now: Batsmen with Most Sixes in a Single IPL Season

10) IPL 2017: David Warner – 641 runs

IPL 2017 Orange Cap WInner

As talked about earlier, Warner and the Orange Cap have their very own love affair. The Australian’s tag of the highest run-scoring abroad batsman within the event tells you all. Warner was sensational within the tenth version of the league and scored 641 runs within the 2017 version of the marquee T20 league. Sunrisers Hyderabad had claimed the title in IPL 2016 however misplaced the playoff battle towards KKR in 2017.

11) IPL 2018: Kane Williamson – 735 runs

IPL 2018 Orange Cap WInner

The genius from New Zealand topped the charts in 2018. The unintentional captain for SRH turned out to be a boon for them as Williamson went on to win the Orange Cap that yr. He scored 735 runs at a mean and strike fee of 52 and 144, respectively. SRH reached the finals beneath his captaincy in that season as nicely.

12) IPL 2019: David Warner – 692 runs

IPL 2019 Orange Cap Winner

After lacking the earlier season, Warner was nicely and really again in IPL 2019, as he scored essentially the most variety of runs in that season. David Warner grew to become the primary participant to win the Orange Cap 3 instances in IPL historical past in IPL 2019. He scored 692 runs at a mean and strike fee of 69 and 144, respectively. And, the next yr, Warner grew to become the quickest to 5000 runs in IPL.

13) IPL 2020: KL Rahul – 670 runs

IPL 2020 orange cap winner

KL Rahul has been top-of-the-line gamers within the IPL for the previous few seasons. After two good seasons in 2018 and 2019, he went on to win the Orange Cap in 2020. It was secure to say that he carried Punjab all through the event. KL Rahul scored 670 runs, amassed at a mean of 55 whereas placing at 129.3, additionally contains 5 fifty-plus scores and 100.

14) IPL 2021: Ruturaj Gaikwad – 635 Runs

Orange Cap winner IPL 2021

Ruturaj Gaikwad scored 635 runs in IPL 2021 to turn into the very best runs scorer within the season when his crew Chennai Tremendous Kings, gained its fourth IPL title. Whereas doing so, he additionally grew to become the youngest cricketer to win the Orange Cap within the event’s historical past at 24. He scored a large whole of 635 runs at a mean of 45.35, together with seven fifties and one century.

15) IPL 2022: Jos Buttler – 863 runs

jos buttler ipl 2022 orange cap winner

2022 is the yr of Jos Buttler, who made 863 runs at a mean of 57.53 in 17 innings and performed an enormous half within the Rajasthan Royals’ runner-up yr. The crew’s path to the ultimate via 2nd qualifier gained the English batsman-wicketkeeper an additional sport to get to this whole. The flawless season from Buttler included 4 centuries, thereby equalling Virat Kohli’s document of 4 centuries within the 2016 season. Buttler additionally topped the chart of most 6s and 4s in that season.

Closing Factors

Solely 4 gamers within the record of prime 10 run scorers in IPL have been capable of decide the Orange Cap of their IPL profession. In that Chris Gayle has gained it twice and David Warner, thrice.

Learn: IPL Purple Cap Winners Listing (12 months by 12 months)

Buvanesh Thiraviam - writer in Cricindeed

A Cricket Blogger | Blogs at Cricindeed.com


In article ad end



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *