Iceland Cricket picks a particular World XI comprising of ODI & T20I world cup profitable captains


Iceland Cricket has introduced a particular World XI that options solely captains of the limited-over codecs. The crew was chosen based mostly on these captains who’ve gained both ODI or T20I World Cups.

The particular XI contains a most of three captains from Australia, two every from India, West Indies, and Pakistan, together with one every from England and Sri Lanka. The crew is led by West Indies legend Clive Lloyd, broadly thought to be one of many best captains of all time. Lloyd captained the West Indies in three World Cups in 1975, 1979 and 1983, profitable two of them in 1975 and 1979.

Lloyd was picked because the quantity three batter, whereas Jos Buttler and Ricky Ponting have been named because the openers. Notably, Buttler helped England seize the T20 World Cup title in 2022 after defeating Pakistan within the summit conflict. Ponting, alternatively, was similar to Lloyd, thought-about one of many most interesting leaders the sport has ever seen. Below Punter, Australia gained two back-to-back ODI World Cups in 2003 and 2007.

One other Aussie, Steve Waugh, thought to be one of many hardest captains, was additionally picked by Iceland Cricket however on the ninth quantity with two of the best all-rounders, Imran Khan and Kapil Dev, forward of him. Notably, Waugh led Australia to a 1999 ODI World Cup win, whereas Imran and Kapil guided Pakistan and India to 1992 and 1983 World Cup triumphs.

Former India skipper MS Dhoni, ex-Pakistan captain Younis Khan and Aussie legend Allan Border have been named within the middle-order within the particular enjoying XI. Dhoni was one probably the most profitable leaders in cricket historical past, profitable main ICC titles like T20 World Cup (2007), ODI World Cup (2011) and the Champions Trophy (2013). Equally, Younis led Pakistan to a 2009 T20 World Cup victory, and Border captained Australia to their first-ever World Cup win in 1987.

The remaining two gamers picked by Iceland Cricket of their particular XI have been Darren Sammy and Lasith Malinga. Whereas Sammy led West Indies to 2 T20 World Cup titles in 2012 and 2016, Malinga captained Sri Lanka to the 2014 T20 World Cup triumph.

The likes of Arjun Ranatunga, Eoin Morgan, Michael Clarke, Aaron Finch and Paul Collingwood have been named within the reserves by Iceland Cricket.

Iceland Cricket’s World XI

Jos Buttler, Ricky Ponting, Clive Lloyd (captain), Younis Khan, MS Dhoni (wk), Allan Border, Imran Khan, Kapil Dev, Steve Waugh, Darren Sammy, Lasith Malinga



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *