Munster 19 Leinster 20 in URC Rugby Championship


Credit score: @MunsterRugby.

 18 complete views,  3 views at present

Leinster Rugby held on for a slender one level victory over Munster Rugby of their BKT United Rugby Championship recreation at Thomond Park on St Stephen’s night time.

With 63% possession and 54% of territory within the opening half, Munster held a slender 7-6 lead on the break, however a decent second interval noticed Leinster scrape dwelling with a victory.

Ross Byrne put his aspect into the lead after solely two minutes when kicking a simple penalty for a kicker of his high quality. Munster had conceded the penalty on the personal 10-metre line when Dave Kilcoyne was responsible of not rolling away.

The Leinster Quantity 10 doubled his sides benefit on 20 minutes when including his second penalty of the night time. A failure to maneuver away by Munster gifted Leinster a straightforward try, which Byrne efficiently slotted over.

Joey Carbery was given a chance to cut back the deficit on 23 minutes when the referee blew for wheeling the scrum. From simply outdoors the attacking 22-metre line, Carbery’s effort went left of the put up, a lot to the frustration of the vast majority of the attendance.

It took over half an hour for Munster to lastly get some factors on the scoreboard. With Munster camped on the Leinster try-scoring line for various minutes, the lads in crimson continued to cost in the direction of the road earlier than Gavin Coombes lastly burrowed over to attain. Positioned close to the posts in a central place, Joey Carbery added the extras for a 7-6 benefit inside the ultimate 10 minutes of the opening half.

Ross Byrne missed his third penalty kick at aim on the crest of halt-time. From narrowly contained in the Munster 10m line, Byrne may have put his aspect right into a slim half-time lead because the groups headed down the tunnel. The miss meant the house aspect held the slenderest of leads on the break of this tight and tense inter-provincial recreation.

Half-time: Munster Rugby 7 Leinster Rugby 6

Second Half

Max Deegan broke his bind as his aspect have been on the again foot of a Munster assault early within the second interval. With the lads in blue retreating, referee Chris Busby had no hesitation in awarding Munster a penalty attempt to despatched Deegan to the sin bin for ten minutes. The 14-6 scoreline was Munster’s highest scoring benefit to that time within the recreation.

The response from the guests was rapid, nevertheless, as Scott Penny crashed over for a five-pointer. Leinster had a penalty awarded however opted to faucet and go resulting in Penny claiming his aspect’s first attempt of the sport. Ross Byrne scored the conversion to slim the deficit to the naked minimal: Munster 14 Leinster 13.

Inside minutes an identical transfer the place Leinster charged for the Munster line noticed Leo Cullen’s aspect declare one other attempt. Dan Sheehan lined-up forward of the Leinster group as he picked and charged by a weak Munster defensive effort, touching down for his aspect’s second attempt of the sport. Ross Byrne added the additional factors to push his outfit right into a 20-14 lead with half an hour remaining within the recreation.

The second Leinster attempt in a brief time frame, appeared to dishearten each the Munster aspect and their supporters. Alternative Patrick Campbell gave them some hope when scoring within the nook with over quarter-hour remaining. With Munster attacking the Leinster line of defense, Gavin Coombes regarded positive to recover from as he burst for the road, solely to be denied wanting the whitewash. Campbell, positioned in splendid isolation neat the touchline was quickly the recipient of possession. He dived over to convey his aspect to inside one level of the URC Rugby Championship’s main aspect. With Carbery’s final motion of the sport being a missed conversion try, because the ball went large of the best hand put up, the jap province held onto a single level lead, a bonus that might take them to an away success at Thomond Park.

Closing rating: Munster Rugby 19  Leinster Rugby 20

Munster Rugby Crew

15. Shane Daly, 14. Calvin Nash, 13. Antoine Frisch, 12. Jack Crowley, 11. Keith Earls, 10. Joey Carbery, 9. Conor Murray.
1. Dave Kilcoyne, 2. Niall Scannell, 3. John Ryan, 4. Jean Kleyn, 5. Tadhg Beirne, 6. Jack O’Donoghue, 7. Peter O’Mahony (captain), 8. Gavin Coombes.

Munster Rugby Replacements

16. Diarmuid Barron, 17. Josh Wycherley, 18. Roman Salanoa, 19. Kiran McDonald, 20. Alex Kendellen, 21. Craig Casey, 22. Rory Scannell, 23. Patrick Campbell.

Leinster Rugby Crew

15. Hugo Keenan, 14. Jordan Larmour, 13. Garry Ringrose (captain), 12. Jamie Osborne, 11. James Lowe, 10. Ross Byrne, 9. Nick McCarthy.
1. Andrew Porter, 2. Dan Sheehan, 3. Cian Healy, 4. Ryan Baird, 5. Joe McCarthy, 6. Rhys Ruddock, 7. Scott Penny, 8. Max Deegan.

Leinster Rugby Replacements

16. John McNee, 17. Michael Milne, 18. Vakhtang Abdaladze, 19. Ross Molony, 20. Jack Conan, 21. Luke McGrath, 22. Harry Byrne, 23. Liam Turner.

Referee: Chris Busby (IRFU)



Attempt: Coombes, Campbell
Conv: Carbery
Penalty attempt


Pen: Byrne 1
Conv Byrne 2
Attempt: Penny, Sheehan

LiveScores Now Obtainable at



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *